Magic Crust 3-Layer Pie

When C and I started dating I didn’t know how to cook. Seriously– I could pour milk into cereal and maybe microwave some ramen noodles. So I made myself a promise that I was going to learn how to cook. Once a week I cooked a meal for us. I looked up recipes, I asked my Nanna for advice. I’ve had some flops and some masterpieces. 🙂 I think I’ll share some recipes I’ve tried here.

C is in eastern Kentucky, so it’s just Nanna and myself here. About 7pm last night we’re searching the cabinets and trying to think of something sweet. Then I remembered a recipe that I had pinned ages ago. Sure enough we had all of the necessary ingredients so I gave it a try!

Magic Crust 3 Layer Pie.

20140226-100831.jpgIngredients:

♥ 4 Whole Eggs
♥ 2 cups of 2% mile
♥ 1/4 Melted Margarine
♥ 3/4 cup granulated sugar
♥ 2 tsp vanilla
♥ 1 pinch of salt
♥ 1/2 cup all purpose flour
♥ Sprinkle of Nutmeg

Directions:

♣ Preheat the oven to 350°
♣ Butter a 9-inch pie pan
♣ Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl with a hand mixer for 30 seconds
♣ Pour into the buttered pan, and sprinkle a very light dusting of ground nutmeg
♣ Bake for 45-50 minutes; let cool completely before serving

Ratings:
Functionality: 4/5
Personal: 2/5

Review: The recipe came out exactly as it was supposed to. It did ‘magically’ form three layers (a crispy top, custardy middle, and flimsy crust)– So for just turning out how the recipe was intended I would give this a 4/5 stars! However— My Nanna and I did not like this recipe one bit! On a personal level I give it a 2/5 stars! The middle layer was too… ‘eggy’ and the crust layer reminded me of a really thick crepe. My Nanna said that she could taste the egg, and that she didn’t enjoy eating the same flavor for 3 layers. Overall I’m bummed, because I love custard and I wanted to like it so badly, but no dice. This was a dud!

Leave a Reply

