Spanish Bean Soup!

I grew up in Florida, so cuban/spanish flavors were quite popular in our everyday cuisine. One of my favorite recipes I can remember was my aunt’s spanish bean soup. A big bowl of that with a hunk of buttered cuban bread… Mmmm. It just so happens that my aunt came for a visit last week and made a pot of this soup. It was the first time I had it in over 10 years. We haven’t made it once since we moved to Kentucky. So now I’m re-addicted and decided to make it again since I’m home alone. It’s super easy and I can eat on it for days. It’s also nice and warm– since we are still having some stupidly cold weather here.

Normally you use a dehydrated chorizo sausage (which is a spanish pork sausage), but it can be hard to find. All I could find was fresh/raw chorizo– so I just cut a hole in the skin and squeezed the sausage into the soup and let it boil and cook. If you can’t find either smoked sausage is also good. In this batch I used both! Also in central Kentucky we don’t have cuban bread– So I use french bread (not as good, but not bad.) Cuban bread is a dry, dense bread. It is similar to french bread, but not quite the same flavor.

Trust me and give this soup a try. You’ll fall in love with it. I promise. It makes a big pot full so be ready to share this dish with you family– or be like me and eat it breakfast, lunch, and dinner for a few days. 😉

20140327-142622.jpg

Spanish Bean Soup!

Ingredients:

♥ 3 cans of chick peas; undrained
♥ 2 packets of “Sazon” seasoning
♥ 16oz cubed ham
♥ 16oz of Chorizo; dried or fresh sausage that has been cut out of the skin. (Or 1 package of smoked sausage if you can’t find it– I used both!)
♥ 3-4 potatoes; peeled and cubed (About 1 pound)
♥ 1 cup of water–Give or take

Directions:

♣ Place a stock pot on high heat.
♣ Combine all of your ingredients except for your potatoes in the stock pot: all three cans of chick peas and their liquid, sazon seasoning, ham, chorizo and/or smoked sausage.
♣ Bring contents of your stock pot to a boil, then add your potatoes. Return the pot to a boil.
♣ Cover pot and reduce heat to low, simmering for 30 minutes.

20140327-142634.jpg

Leave a Reply

