Health Insurance Woes…

C and I signed up for health insurance and I didn’t realize at the time that it wouldn’t go into effect until May 1st. That would not have been a big concern except for the fact that we got lucky enough to conceive our first month trying– and because of that I’ll be nine weeks and one day on May 1st. We really didn’t want to wait that long before we had our first prenatal appointment. We tried to go to health department in the hopes that we could get some interim care, and we were denied.

So to put my mind at ease I called and double checked with the insurance company that everything is set to kick in on May 1st and I should be getting my card in the mail in the next 7-10 days. I also double checked and Anthem BCBS does NOT consider pregnancy to be a preexisting condition. So I researched a few practices in the city and called and made an appointment with a midwife who is affiliated with the hospital that I had hoped to give birth at before we ever conceived Sea Monkey. I was lucky enough to get an appointment at 9am on May 1st– 9am is the ultrasound, and 930 I meet with my midwife. There are 4 hospitals that do births in my city alone, so the fact that I completed my maternal newborn clinical rotation at this hospital is just one more reason why I feel better about it.

The office actually recommends that you come in for your first appointment at 8-10 weeks, so 9 weeks is right in the middle and I keep trying to tell myself that to keep me calm. It’s just crazy scary not knowing what’s going on and if everything is okay. I just wish I had more than two pink lines to validate my pregnancy (along with a slew of other early pregnancy symptoms).

I’m working on staying positive and busy. I have my HESI on April 28th, doctors appointment on May 1st, last exam on May 6th, pinning ceremony on May 7th, and we leave for vacation on May 11th. I have so many wonderful things happening. I’m just too type-A to wait so long for confirmation, etc. It’ll all be okay.  So I have a lot to keep me occupied….. right?!

 

Leave a Reply

