13 weeks

So I’ve been doing that little survey about my week, and I have decided I’m gonna stop doing it in that fashion. I want to write more and remember more as my pregnancy progresses. Being just two weeks away from our gender reveal scan is really making this pregnancy feel more real (the vomiting, and sore boobs aren’t enough).

Peach WIDE

As of today I am 13 weeks and 5 days, and I’m down another 3 pounds from my first prenatal appointment. Towards the end of week 12 I started to feel better on the nausea front and I thought that it was just dissipating with the end of the first trimester (like all of the books/blogs/articles say it should). Then this past week it came back just like before only this time I realized that it was coupled with (TMI) constipation— Which is exactly what was going on last time I was super sick.

(More TMI coming up!) After taking several stool softeners a day with no relief I went with an old classic: Prunes. I bought some prunes and some prune juice, and ate 7 prunes with a small glass of prune juice. It was a magical combination! I’ve deiced that every other day I’m going to eat 4 prunes just to keep me from getting in that situation again. It’s super uncomfortable.

Then I got curious as to why prunes help with constipation and I found that a lot of people believe that it is because of the fiber– Not the case. The real reason is the magnesium. For those who have tried Milk of Magnesia– You can now see the connection. The fiber is just an added bonus. I also don’t totally hate the taste of them, so that is another bonus.

Something else I’ve noticed is a my breast size has increased just a little bit, but considering I’ve been a double-A any increase is significant. I also noticed that my areola on my right side is darker. Yay for breast changes! It’s also getting easier to find the heartbeat using my BellaBeat– Always around the 150’s (does this mean girl?).

Not much has been going on this week– More work is being done on the house, which is exciting. We’ve got paint going up, and trim being laid. The roof is just about done, and the windows will be done this coming week; hanging them is going to really change the way the place looks. The nursery is ready for paint– but my original idea has changed. I want something different and a little more gender specific– what yet I don’t really know. It’s killing me! haha I’ve been goggling for inspiration and I’m stuck! Hopefully I’ll be hit with some inspiration soon.

I did spent some time today pre-registering for our registry. What I mean is I went through my Babies R Us wish list (that I’ve been compiling for over a year), and started to separate my registry between Wal-Mart and Babies R Us. My plan is to register at Babies R Us for some of the more expensive items that Wal-Mart doesn’t carry, and register for some of the smaller things at Wal-Mart. This way if someone would like to give a gift, but can not really afford the Babies R Us prices (because– YIKES, they are expensive!) then they have a much more affordable option. I’ve compiled a list in a word document for which items I want to register for at Babies R Us, and which items I want to register for at Wal-Mart.

I’ve also been comparing reviews on some of the bigger ticket items like the carseat/stroller, glider, etc. That way I feel comfortable when it comes time to shell out of money for them– that at least I’m getting a good and safe product for my baby.

I’ve also found my dream bassinet/cosleeper!! I’ve been so worried about the lack of space in our master bedroom with our new king bed. I knew I wanted a cosleeper, but I was worried it wouldn’t attach to the bed or leave us enough space. So then I found the HALO Bassinest. It doesn’t come out until later this month, but as soon as it does I’m snatching one up! It’ll be the perfect compromise for the cosleeping I was hoping for.

bassinest Bassinest_product__54318.1397483198.1280.1280

 

I also have a few big ticket items from Ikea that I need to pick up once the house is far enough along for furniture. Since the nursery doesn’t have a closet (this house was built in the 1940’s) I need to make sure I’ve got plenty of storage. I know I plan on buying the HEMMNES 8-Drawer Dresser, and the maybe the 6-Drawer Dresser too (instead of a wardrobe), but I haven’t decided yet. I also plan on buying the KALLAX bookshelf (used to be EXPEDIT). I have plans to paint the bookshelf, and maybe even the dresser so they won’t be so stark white, but until some nursery inspiration hits me that is also on hold.

Nursery

Anyway, this turned into a much longer post than I had originally anticipated. Lots of research going on. Maybe next week it will be more exciting and less me babbling about baby products.

Leave a Reply

