Chicken and Gnocchi Soup (or in my case: Stew).

One of my favorite soups has to be the chicken and gnocchi soup at Olive Garden– I just always think that they are a little too shy with those delicious potato dumplings. So when I was shopping at mejier a few years ago I saw a huge bag of frozen gnocchi. It was the only time that I ever saw those dumplings in the store. I snatched it up without really knowing what I planned on making with them.

I searched high and low for a recipe that sounded good and after hours on the internet I found a recipe that looked almost perfect. I’ve changed a few things from the original– and I think it steps it up to a whole new level of awesome.

Now– you might be wondering why I call it stew– Well. I tend to like this dish on the thicker side. I add twice as much gnocchi and spinach are even MY own recipe calls for. If you like it thinner just follow the recipe as follows. What doesn’t change is the amazing flavor. I love how creamy it is without having a ton of cream (although 2 cups is a lot– keep in mind this makes a HUGE stock pot full that can easily feed 8 people). I also love to serve it with homemade french bread (and by homemade– I mean I cracked a tube of Pillsbury french bread in my home, and cooked it in the oven.)

20140610-153316-55996903.jpg

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup!

Ingredients:

♥ 2 pounds of chicken; cooked and chopped
♥ 4 cups of chicken broth
♥ 2 cups of half-and-half
♥ 9oz of frozen spinach; thawed and drained (or doubled it you’re me!)
♥ 4 medium carrots; peeled, washed, and grated
♥ 1 medium onion; chopped fine
♥ 3 cloves of garlic; minced
♥ 2 tablespoons of olive oil
♥ 1 pound of gnocchi (or doubled if you’re me!
♥ Salt and pepper to taste.
♥ Optional: cornstarch and water for thickening.

Directions:

♣ In a large stock pan on medium low heat cook onion, carrots, and garlic until onion is translucent; about 10 minutes.
♣ Add chicken broth, spinach, and chicken back into the pot. Simmer for 5 minutes.
♣ Add half-half, gnocchi, and seasoning to taste. Cover and summer for 25-30 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Chicken and Gnocchi Soup (or in my case: Stew).

Leave a Reply

