Week 15

Week 15
*this is a long post!

Woozah! This week has been exciting. Well, I should amend that and say that the end of this week has been the most exciting. We had our gender reveal scan at 15 weeks and 5 days. I was so excited and nervous that I couldn’t sleep the night before. I just knew that our baby was a girl, but about a week or two ago I started having gender specific dreams and in every dream I had a boy.

The morning of our scan my best friend (K) met up with us so she could follow us to our appointment. The hospital is under a lot of construction and unless you’ve been there once or twice it can be very confusing! I knew I wanted to share this moment with her, and she was so excited to be there too. She even surprised me when she got out of her car because she had a big bouquet of ‘gender neutral’ flowers. My appointment was at 830, but we got there at 810, and lucky enough we got called back at 820.

The ultrasound technician was the same lady who did our first scan (the one when I bawled like a baby), and I reassured her I wouldn’t cry this time– tearing up doesn’t count. Haha. She put some warm jelly on my stomach and right away I could see our baby– laying transverse across my uterus. She took the heart rate and it was down to 146– about 10 beats lower than usual. C said that maybe baby was a boy after all!

I was so sure baby was a girl, so it was still a huge (very good) surprise when she told us that we were having a BOY! It was a great ultrasound because baby was moving all over the place, flexing his arms and legs, and kicking. It made C tear up a bit. We got some great pictures, and there is no doubt that we’ve got a boy. He gave us quite the money shot! Haha

After this we went to BabiesRUs to celebrate. I had no ideas for a nursery theme for a boy so we wandered around the bed sets for a bit until we saw one we loved! Peek-A-Boo Monsters! All of the stuff was on clearance because they were phasing it out so we went ahead and bought the bed set, lamp, and mobile. Then we scoured the racks for baby boy clothes!

I had several people texting me asking what the gender was, but I wanted to make the big public reveal first. So we found some super cute outfits, and took our picture with them. I uploaded the picture, and then texted everyone right away. Everyone is so thrilled! We were really hoping for a boy, and everyone was happy we were having one.

The rest of the week was busy for the house. We demoed the master bedroom, picked up our windows, scheduled the electrician to come work, and I took a closer look at the soon to be nursery. We’ve decided to build a huge walk in closet in the master, and a nice 65″ by 30″ closet in the nursery. The house is nearly 80 years old so working within the small spaces is a must! The more I thought about not having a closet, the more I knew I had to have one.

On a pregnancy side of things– I was down another 3 pounds at this appointment, but my midwife didn’t seem concerned. I was a little shocked to be down some more. I’ve been getting sick less often, and eating more than before. It’ll catch up with me soon! I also learned that my midwife is leaving for maternity leave soon, but she should be back before we have the baby!

I did take this time to ask her about my labor and birth. I was very happy with her answers. She has had many clients succeed with a natural labor, so she will support me in this to the best of her ability. I do have to have an IV, but I can maintain my fluids orally. I can have intermittent monitoring of baby’s heart rate so I can walk around with my contractions. I can push in whatever position I feel best in– she said she has delivered babies every way: hands and knees, squatting, etc. She was thrilled when I said I want immediate kangaroo care, and delayed cord clamping. I forgot to ask about water birth, but that will have as much to do with hospital policy as it will with her. ** unfortunately I have to say ‘can’– because a lot of hospitals bully women into treating birth like a medical procedure, rather than a natural act. I love having a midwife understands and wants to help me have the birth I want.

While she is away I’ll be with another midwife in the practice. I’ve never met her before and I’m a bit nervous, but I’m sure it’ll be okay. Next visit we are doing the big anatomy scan! She told us it is very in depth and they look at everything. I’m excited to get to see my baby boy so soon again. I’m even more excited to make my 3D/4D scan appointment at a BellySpa! That won’t be till around 28-32 weeks, but still!

This week (according to the apps) baby can hear my heartbeat and maybe even my voice. So I’m taking my time to speak to him and give him a familiar voice to attach to. I still am not feeling movement, but hopefully soon! Baby is growing from a navel orange in size to an avocado!

I’m looking forward to growing a more noticeable bump, some boob growth ( don’t judge!), and feeling my baby boy move! I feel really bonded to our son, and it can’t wait to experience all of the things pregnancy has to offer (even the not to pretty parts).

I’m just filled to the brim with bliss and happiness. 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Week 15

Leave a Reply

