Week 18

This week our son is the size of a sweet potato and is working on hardening his cartilaginous bones into actual bone. He is possible sucking his thumb, hiccuping, and rolling all around. Hopefully I will feel him move soon with 100% confidence. I keep thinking it’s him, but I can’t be sure.

On the pregnancy front I’ve been experiencing more of this joyous lower back pain, and what I think is sciatica. It usually doesn’t bother me until the end of the day, but if I’ve been up doing a lot then it will hurt sooner. Last night was awful and I was near tears, so I purchased a heating pad and it was fantastic!

I’m not losing weight anymore, and I’m not really gaining just yet either. I’m still within 0.2 pounds of my weight from the last doctors appointment. I have been very hungry and I’m sticking to eating every 3 hours or so to keep the nausea at bay. I’ve only been sick once this past week, and it was because I drank too much water too fast.

I’ve been using my fetal heart rate doppler and I love how much he’s moving because I have to fight it find where he’s hanging out each time. He’s hanging out in the low 140’s. It is always a great sound, and I know C and I love to hear it in between appointments.

Our next appointment is next Wednesday and it’s the big anatomy scan! I’m very excited to see him again, and hear how everything is growing. We are so close to the half way point! Also I keep feeling like I feel him moving, but I have to really focus and I can’t be 100% sure that what I feel is him. One time I felt something and I was so sure it was him– but now I’m doubting myself. Haha

This past week C and I went to our first childbirth class. This class talked about labor, childbirth, and what to expect at our hospital. Honestly– we both really hated the class. Other than the 5 minutes she spent on the stuff about our hospital’s specific protocols, she did not say anything we didn’t already know. I was irritated at some if the hospital procedures and ‘rules’, and at the antiquated practices that are no longer evidence based practice.

I guess I have a very ‘hippie’ mindset when it comes to childbirth. It is a natural process, not a medical procedure (most of time!). If I wouldn’t be living 90 miles away from a competent hospital, home birth would have been considered. There also are not any alternative birth centers in my state. I hope that one day, after I’ve gained experience as a midwife, that I will be able to work in a facility like an alternative birth center. I realize that this is many years off because I plan to get my doctorate of nursing practice as a midwife and then need to get experience– but this is a dream I don’t think will ever die.

The next two weeks are going to be super busy. This weekend we are traveling to see my parents in Wes Virginia and pick up our air conditioner units for the house. We also have the big anatomy scan coming up next week. Then I’ve got to study for my NCLEX, because it’s less than 2 weeks away. After all of this we are celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary, and traveling to Ohio to see our friends. It’s going to be a blur and I’m hoping everything works out.

Fingers crossed– until next week!

Leave a Reply

