Braxton Hicks!

I knew when I was feeling Braxton hick contractions that they were not the real deal, but I didn’t realize what they were at first. I was concerned and nervous, but I didn’t have any bleeding, they were not consistent, gaining intensity, or all that painful. The problem was all of the literature I had read described them as a tightening feeling. What I am feeling is menstrual like cramps in my lower abdomen.

So google became my friend. I found several articles that described the different types of Braxton hicks contractions that people feel. Turns out menstrual like cramping is normal. I also talked to my midwife and she said as long as they do not gain any of the criteria of normal contractions I was fine. My mind was finally put at ease.

It kind of makes me excited to feel them, because it reminds me that my pregnancy is nearing the end. We are now in our third trimester and have less than 90 days to go. I want my uterus to workout and get ready for the birth ahead.

I also have some other things that I plan to do help me ready for labor: certain exercises, red raspberry leaf tea, etc. So I may be weird, but I’m glad that my body is gearing up for the birth of my son– even if it’s uncomfortable. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Braxton Hicks!

  1. Sorry to hear your Braxton Hicks had you worried. It’s amazing how different they can be. My Braxton Hicks are much stronger this time around and leave me completely breathless. Last time I didn’t even realise I was having them and at one point during a routine appointment the midwife said ‘I’ll just wait til your Braxton Hicks finishes before I continue observing the bump!’ Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

