Week 31 (& A Scary Round of False Labor!!)

Before I do my ‘questionnaire’ for the week, I’m going to talk about the scary day I had were I thought I was going into labor. We had our appointment at 1130am this morning, and this is the first appointment where we had to drive in from eastern ky. It’s a 90 mile drive from the house. During the drive I was having pretty regular (like, every 8 minutes), painful/uncomfortable braxton hicks contractions. My midwife’s office is in the hospital, and it’s a nice little hike from where we parked our car to where her office is. While we were walking they stopped, but once I sat in the waiting room I had a few more.

Back in the exam room I stepped on the scale to see that I had gained 9 pounds in two weeks! That freaked me out and made me embarrassed. Then the nurse took my BP and it was elevated enough that they wanted to do a urine stick and a blood draw for a preeclampsia panel, 144/72. My midwife, husband, and myself agreed that my BP was probably up because I was in pain from the contractions, anxious about my weight, and overall just upset– but she wanted to be safe.

I explained to her what was going on with my contractions (they had changed from light period like cramping, to an all over tightening with most discomfort still in my lower abdomen that had been happening for nearly a week). She didn’t feel the need to monitor me right then and there. She asked my husband and I stick around town so if something did happen we weren’t 90 miles away, and she gave me strict orders to drinks TONS of water. She believed they were the result of dehydration. We agreed to this, and after the appointment went to lunch. While hubby and I were at lunch the BH were coming so frequently and were painful enough that my hands were shaking and I was having a hard time eating, but I managed to drink two full glasses of water (no ice).

We then went to the mall because we were picking up our phones from the Apple Store after having them repaired. I thought the walking around would help. It did! Sure enough while we were walking they stopped all together. I thought we were golden. Finally, we are ready to leave and head home (several hours and errands later), but getting stuck in 5 o’clock traffic meant we were going slow. While stuck in traffic they came back about every 8 minutes or so. They were not getting more intense. I could still talk through them, etc. They just were very noticeable.

We stopped before getting on the interstate to buy me some more water and so I could I call my midwife. She felt comfortable telling me to go home, rest, and drink lots of fluids– because she said they were not gaining in intensity she felt this was just BH made worse by exertion and dehydration.

So now I’m home, having semi-regular BH that are painful enough that I’m fully aware of them, but not painful enough to have anyone concerned that they are real labor. I don’t know what to do, because when I sit down they keep coming, and it’s scary to think I’m going to feel this for the next 8 weeks. I’ve easily drank 10+ cups of water in less than 12 hours, and they won’t stop. 😦

For now we are just monitoring my symptoms.

Today was a very exhausting day.

How far along: Currently I’m 31 weeks and 6 days.

Total Weight Gain/Loss: 22.8 pounds from pre pregnancy (that is 9 pounds up from 2 weeks ago!!!)

Maternity clothes: I discovered that yoga pants are super comfortable and if you unfold the top of the pants up, they act like maternity pants. I mean, I wouldn’t wear them out to dinner, but they are super great for quick errands and around the house!

Stretch marks: They seemed to have stalled out for now, but I’m sure this won’t last long.

Sleep: Sleep is about the same. My sciatic nerve pain is terrible, and getting up feels like I’m trying to do with absolutely no stomach muscles. It’s so strange! Also, if I don’t remember to take 2 gas-x and 2 antacids before bed I wake up with terrible gas pains in my belly, which make rolling over and going to the bathroom even harder than it already is. Despite all of this– I know that we are so close and I ca endure whatever it takes to bring this baby home.

Best moment last week: We ordered our living room furniture (minus the TV stand, but I’ve picked one out from IKEA), AND the rocking chair for the nursery!! I went with a small lazy boy recliner that isn’t actually a glider, but it is super comfortable and has great lumbar support. I love it!

Movement: Oh yes. Always.

Food cravings: Sweets! And I’m not doing a good job avoiding them. 😦

Gender: Bouncing bubbly baby BOY!

Labor signs: Oh yes! ^^

Pregnancy Symptoms: The swelling has gone down and is staying down. It was bad for several days after I helped with the wedding, but we’ve been taking it pretty slow around the house so I haven’t had issues with it again. I’m still feeling very large, and curious how much bigger I’m going to get! haha.

Belly button: Nearly flat!

What I miss: Eating sweets without the guilt. haha.

What I am looking forward to: The baby shower is next Sunday, and my best friend is coming over this week to spend the night and work on some of the details.

Milestones: Officially 8 months preggo!

5 thoughts on “Week 31 (& A Scary Round of False Labor!!)

    • Thank you! I am hoping for the same, and fingers crossed it will calm down! As for the sweets– I can’t stop eating them completely, but I’ve limited myself to just one sweet treat a day! Let’s see how my will power holds out. 😉

Leave a Reply

